Lecherous Broads For Clay Aiken!
Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken!


new | previous| next
archive

Welcome to LBFCA and 10 Simple Rules for Visitors, Newbies and Lurkers

Last 5 entries:
Celebrity Apprentice - 2012-03-12
What's New? - 2011-09-05
Timeless - 2010-08-16
The Clean Up Crew - 2009-07-03
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009! - 2008-12-31

MANIFESTO

LBFCA is not appropriate for minor children.

LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

More Lechery in the LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

Order Clay's Album Here!!


A Thousand Different Ways

Make a Difference


Clay Aiken "Official" Fan Club Website

Order Clay's Book Here

Order Clay's Other CDs Here

Broads BDay List

LBFCA Glossary

Make a shirt or decal with the
2005 LBFCA Logo

SUBSCRIBE to the Main Page

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2004-01-14
9:09 p.m.

Bobblefest BEVR - Ali

Clay Aiken Night at UNCC
by Ali

I went to Clay Aiken night at UNCC and got to hear Clay sing. He was, of course, wonderful. I was not able to go to my local AI tour concert and finally getting to hear Clay sing was exciting to me. When I read on some message boards that he was going to sing the SSB before the game I was intrigued. When I read in my local newspaper, the Charlotte Observer that he was going to sing a song at halftime; I knew that I had to get there. I do not drive and lost much of my independence after my stroke and mostly live my life depending upon the kindness of others. I am lucky enough to know one person who is a Clay Aiken fan and I thought would be nice enough to take me. She jumped at the chance to go and was able to get tickets for us. This was late in the week and I was worried that we would not be able to get tickets, but were able to. We did learn that you cannot buy handicapped tickets online and that you have to order these over the phone. I know that does not have anything to do with Clay, but it is kind of interesting. I was so excited about the prospect of hearing Clay even though it would not be the same as seeing him perform at a concert. I had a wonderful time even though I did not get to meet any of the Broads.

As luck would have it, I got very sick Thursday night with the most violent nausea I have ever had in my life. I have a caregiver who stays with me at night; she is here from 6:30PM to 8:00 AM. She kept telling me that my color was so bad that I should go to the ER. I did not think that was necessary even though I noticed that I had turned a very unbecoming shade of green. Blossom, my cat, thought it was great to have everyone up at night and saw all the activity as entertainment. She was having fun while I wanted to die. How like a cat. I had a wretched night. I mostly wanted someone to take me out and shoot me to put me out of my misery. I also worried that I would not be well enough to go to hear Clay. I spent Friday sipping water and taking phenegran determined to be well by Saturday. I decided that I could go if I had not thrown up for 24 hours. I was fine by Saturday morning, talk about the healing properties of Clay.

My friend Robin and I went out to eat at a restaurant near UNCC before the game. We had a nice time even though I cannot say much for the food. Our waiter was talking to us as we were leaving; he mostly wanted sympathy for the long hours that he had to work that day. We said that we were going to the game. He smiled and said oh you are going to hear Clay sing. He also told us that ECU was their big rival. I think that he was probably a UNCC Student.

We did not find the UNCC staff to be prime examples of the Southern hospitality and graciousness that we take so much pride in here in Charlotte. I hope that those of you from out of town had a more pleasant experience than we did. The security/parking lot staff was not very helpful. We saw signs for disability parking and stopped to ask them for directions. They were too focused on moving people along to speak to us. Will call was inside the arena. We had to convince staff to let us inside to get our tickets. Robin's comment on Will call " was I am writing UNCC about this and remember that time we were going to ALA and you practically vaulted the counter at the airport to go after that US Air guy, it was worse than that." That was back in my former life when I was mobile. I think that some UNCC staff could use more customer focused training. The elevator in the parking deck could use better signage.

We finally got to the arena and talked our way inside. Our seats were not to bad except that they were right behind the basket. We moved to a different location at halftime where we did not have to try to see through the basketball post. There are a few advantages to taking your seat or chair with you. My friend Robin did have to stand, but she thought that it was worth standing to be able to see Clay. I still did not get to see Clay's face while he was singing. Maybe I'll get to do that when he is on tour.

They handed us our bobbleheads before they let us in. There were big signs about only one bobblehead per person. I did not see anyone demanding an extra bobblehead. Clay's bobblehead skin is a most unusual color. I have never seen anyone with skin that color and don't know what to call it. The only things that they got right are that he has long feet and the fingers of the left hand holding the mic are long and slender. I do like his leather jacket.

Just before 8:00, I saw Clay walk out on to the court in a group of people. It was easy to pick him out of the group because of his height and his hair. When Clay walked out to center court, the arena was full of flashes going off. People stood up. I don't know if that was for Clay or the national anthem. I expect that it was the latter. Some little girls near me started screaming. He was wearing baggy jeans and a black shirt. It was the one with the faint damask stripe. I think that the top button must have been unbuttoned because I saw an expanse of white t-shirt/undershirt. I could not see much of his shoes because his jeans were too long and covered up most of his shoes. All that I could see was that they were long and black. I expect that they were not his ankle boots because they would want him to wear soft-soled shoes on the basketball floor. His jeans were long and baggy. They were the ones with frayed hems. I have seen them in a picture, maybe the Raleigh Christmas parade?

I think that Clay can sing TSSB better than anybody else. He sings it with such confidence while most singers quaver and strain. It just rolls out of him in his wonderful lower register voice. Clay has taught me to love our national anthem, which I never expected to do. Who knows what I might agree to do for our country after listening to Clay sing TSSB.I would even like to have a recording of it in order to hear more of his lower register voice.

The crowd in the arena seemed to be a mixture of UNCC students (I am assuming this because of their age and UNCC t-shirts), Clay fans and older men listening to our NFL team's playoff game on their radios. I expect that they would rather have been home watching the game on TV and I don't know why they were at the basketball game. They kept announcing the Panther's score during the basketball game. The crowd was excited because UNCC students were happy that they were winning, Clay fans were excited about him and Charlotteans were thrilled that they won their playoff game. It was an arena full of enthusiastic people. This was my first exposure to the world of college athletics and corporate sponsors. The rule seems to be to mention the sponsors name as many times as possible. They must have told us that Food Lion donated 9,105 bobbleheads 9,105 times. Not only did we have guys coming down to shoot baskets at halftime, but we also had a tacky spin the Verbatim wheel interlude. Someone, another guy, got to come down to the floor to spin a wheel to see what prize he could win. He won 5 CD discs. I am sure that he was overjoyed at this great prize.

During the first half of the game, Clay was sitting at a table with a group of people on the court. I was sitting diagonally behind him. I had a perfect view of the back of his head, which meant that I got to see my newest obsession, his shoulders. I thought that his hair looked longer in the back because I could not see the back of his neck. His hair also looked thicker at the top in the back and was wildly sticking out every which way. It was not one of his best hair days and it almost looked like hair that I would do. It seemed browner to me, almost a dirty blond color. I did not see any freckles. He was graduation day pale At first I thought he was not wearing his WWJD bracelet, but then I realized that it was on his right wrist and his watch was on his left wrist.

He was sitting between 2 girls. I think that the one on his right was with the boy on her left because she was rubbing his back. Clay was leaning into the one on his left. He was very close to her and was either whispering in her ear or nuzzling her cheek. At one point he leaned over and hugged her in a very friendly way.

Clay talked non-stop to both girls for the entire first half. He kept turning his head to talk to them, which was great for me because it meant that I got to see his profile. I did not get to see his eyebrows or eyelashes but was able to see his beautiful cheekbones.

He was very animated and talked or gestured with his hands constantly which I loved watching. I had a wonderful view of his long, slender fingers. He often laced his hands together and seeing those long fingers intertwined did something to me. Oh, those hands. Clay talking with his hands was adorable.

I would never have guessed how much fun it would be to watch the back of someone's head, but then nothing about Clay is typical. I was riveted to the back of his head for the first half of the game. Basketball is the one sport that I do understand and enjoy and I was not able to pay any attention to the game. I did not see Clay during the second half of the game.

I think that he might have been a little bit antsy because he was nervously tapping the table with his water bottle. That may also be the reason he talked non-stop and was gesturing with his hands so much. At one point the girl on his right threw her arms out and up in the air which put them right in front of his face. I think that this must have irritated him because he reached out and gently pushed them down on the table. I thought that was cute, but then I think that just about anything he does is cute.

At halftime, Clay walked out on the court with various dignitaries. I think that they were UNCC folk and corporate sponsor VPs. I could not hear most of what was said. Fortunately, the sound was working for the important part of the program, i.e. Clay singing. I believe that they talked about Clay's gift to the College of Education and the sponsor gifts to his foundation. I did get teary eyed at Clay's gift to UNCC's School of Education and spun way out there with a fantasy that someday he will endow a special education chair at the Education College, the Aiken chair. I do have some strange Clay fantasies. Since I could not hear most of what was said I am not sure of this, but I think that Clay's gift was larger than the sponsor's donation, which I understood to be $20,000.

Perhaps someone else who was there could clarify this. One good thing about all of the VPs milling about was that we were able to watch Clay shake hands a number of times. Clay has a great handshake and I know that it must be a firm one. I have now added Clay's handshake to my list of things that I love about him. Is that very weird? He exudes such self-confidence and I like how he leans into people when he shakes hands. I may love his handshake because he definitely has a man's rather than a boy's handshake.

After the check donations comments, they announced that they had a gift for Clay. He looked excited and looked around expectantly in the adorable way that he did on the GMA Platinum award announcement show. The gift was a framed print. I think that UNCC could do more for Clay than give him a framed print and a bobblehead.

The dignitaries left and they announced that Clay would be singing Invisible. At this point, security staff came around and circled the arena on the floor. As had been reported in the other BEVR's, Clay sang The Way instead of Invisible. I think that it took people a while to realize that he was not singing Invisible. I did not have a sense that most people recognized The Way or were familiar with it. Of course, if you have not listened to MOAM thousands of times as we have, you will not know it. It was at this point that I overheard my favorite comment of the evening, a father telling his daughter "look honey it's the American Idol". I almost hugged him.

Clay made a real effort to go around the arena and sing to everyone. I thought that he was having fun and that he was trying hard to give the best performance that he could in a basketball arena. I did not see any clutches, but we did get some hoppy jumps and some adorable sideways leans. He was performing as well as singing. He was all over that arena floor and was definitely giving the crowd his all. He sang Invisible after The Way. People on the opposite of the arena from me were singing along with Invisible and he held his mic up to them. I was able to call Mysterybroad at halftime to give her a cellcert. It was so dark that I could not see the numbers on my phone plus I could not hear if anyone answered her phone. I was concerned about whether or not I had gotten through to her and was delighted to get her email that it had worked. My apologies email crossed with her thank you email.

I kept thinking about what an incredible high the evening must have been for him. He had been in the same arena just a month before for his graduation, which we all know meant a lot to him. . Now he was back singing at a home basketball game. North Carolina is basketball country and college basketball is a big deal across the state with our strong ACC teams and rivalries. I don't know too much about UNCC life, but I expect a home basketball game is a major event. I expect that he was excited.

When we left the arena, we walked by a group of girls sitting on a wall singing Invisible. It was quite cold for Charlotte and I am surprised that they were out. I think that they were just having too much fun to go in. Having them serenade us out was a great way to leave.

I know that 2 songs at a basketball game are not the same thing as a concert, but I enjoyed it because I finally got to here Clay sing. Maybe next time I will get to meet some broads. I am now more excited about his tour than I was, even if it means that I will have to listen to Kelly. I came home more in love with his hands than I already was and with a new love, his handshake. How am I going to wait for this tour?

Ali


posted by Nelle

blog comments powered by Disqus

hosted by
DiaryLand.com