Lecherous Broads For Clay Aiken!
Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken!


new | previous| next
archive

Welcome to LBFCA and 10 Simple Rules for Visitors, Newbies and Lurkers

Last 5 entries:
Celebrity Apprentice - 2012-03-12
What's New? - 2011-09-05
Timeless - 2010-08-16
The Clean Up Crew - 2009-07-03
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009! - 2008-12-31

MANIFESTO

LBFCA is not appropriate for minor children.

LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

More Lechery in the LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

Order Clay's Album Here!!


A Thousand Different Ways

Make a Difference


Clay Aiken "Official" Fan Club Website

Order Clay's Book Here

Order Clay's Other CDs Here

Broads BDay List

LBFCA Glossary

Make a shirt or decal with the
2005 LBFCA Logo

SUBSCRIBE to the Main Page

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2004-05-21
12:48 a.m.

How This Lecherous Broad Can Fondly Recall May 21, 2003: Sail on By

How can an obsessed hypomanic fan of Clay Aiken say anything good about May 21, 2003? Isn't that the night of 'The Anomaly?' The night Clay, and his fans was robbed?

Well, true, and Katynka began to address the build up of tension and suspicion leading to that night with the Vincident Revisited page last week.

But, that's not all that I remember that night for. I remember that night for being the culmination of that little tv show that brought Clay Aiken into my life. I looked forward to that night for weeks. Of course I wanted Clay Aiken to win the game. But, I never thought it was a guaranteed outcome. Frankly, I sort of stopped caring....not that I stopped caring for Clay, because by then I was helplessly and hopelessly in love and lust with the man, had been for months...I stopped thinking it was all that important that he win. Sometime back in the weeks approaching the finals, I had a sense, shared by a lot of Broads on the PPs, that no matter who won ai, Clay Aiken wasn't going away, and he and his fans were going to be fine.

I don't mean to imply I had any idea of the magnitude of success the following year would bring to Clay. Who could have imagined that? It was simply obvious to me, and others, that Clay was demonstrating something that others on the show were not...a combination of astounding vocal talent, engaging personality, open stage presence, sense of humor, delicious physical attractiveness, incredible natural sex appeal, gracious humility, loving generosity, an ability to connect with the audience in a way that inspired fandom, and an obvious ambition to learn, do well, and benefit from whatever opportunity this tv experience might offer. The guest judges were consistently impressed with him, and I imagined that even if Clay didn't win, more than one record company was probably drooling at the chance to sign him.

When Clay made it to the top three, he started talking about having achieved his goal. I believed him. His conviction, that he would be fine with whatever the outcome after that, was comforting. Still, he was obviously, and admirably, trying hard to win, and I wanted him to win. I was part of the mass of fans eager to celebrate the success of giving Clay this gift, in appreciation for all he'd given to us since January. It mattered to me to deliver that to him. But, I also discovered I held a deep conviction that Clay himself valued other things more highly than the title he was going for; vastly more meaningful treasures, more significant to him than winning the contest called American Idol Season 2. I started posting a mantra on the PPs:

"It doesn't matter what happens because Clay has already won in every way that matters."

Of course I kept voting, and I recruited teenagers (friends of my daughter) to come for the final voting party. Fed them pizza, and everything. We were all thrilled with Clay's performances, so well remembered by Kat, yesterday.

Then we gathered the next night, Weds, May 21, to watch the results, hopeful for a victorious outcome. As soon as Ryan announced how close the percentages of votes were, I had a sinking feeling. Over the previous weekend Clay's fans had driven his yet to be released single up to #1 on Amazon.com presales. In half a day! There was no way the vote could be close if Clay fans had been successful in giving him this gift. Even I was struggling to remember my mantra then, because I started to think the jig was up.

<<<<<>>>>>

Several weeks ago, I told the other MP Broads I would write the page for the anniversary of the final results, because I still loved how Clay sang that night, and I considered it a stepping off point for the real beginning of his singing career. Besides, everyone knows how sappy I am, and I wanted to remember the day in a celebratory manner, not in a way that would stir up anger and bitterness. I did a bit of PP diving, looking for posts anticipating the final results. I wrote a little text. Eventually, I watched my recording of the final competition night, then the results night. I don't watch my old Clack often. Clay keeps me so busy (teehee) with his more recent work.

I groaned watching that cheesiest of cheesy Group Numbers, of final results night. But, Clay sang his Lionel Ritchie solo beautifully.


He showed off those luminescent cheekbones



He introduced the reach-out-and-tease-the-audience move...that he later used with deadly seductive success during the Jingle Bell/Winter concerts, and the Invisible performance during The Coming Tour



He killed us all with his finishing copulatory gaze...hello!

When the medley of Ruben, Kim and Clay began, I grabbed one of the teenager's hands, then two more joined ours...I was so excited that I was going to get to see/hear Clay sing On The Wings of Love on my tv! He delivered the delights, as anticipated. We all squealed. They were 17. I was 12.


As I kept viewing my recording, I was starting to think ahead about the results at the end of the show. I sat there remembering how heartbreakingly beautiful the May 20 rendition of BOTW was. I had just been in tears seeing that again, and remembering the first time I saw/heard Clay sing BOTW. I was trying to remember how the May 21 performance could have become my favorite for months. Maybe I was the wrong person to write this MP...maybe I was still angry and upset about 'The Anomaly.' Those feelings were certainly there last year, along with bitter disappointment, resentment about feeling manipulated, and guilt for not having done enough (why, oh why didn't I personally invite 130,000 more friends over for the voting party, and pay for their text messages?) But, those were not my primary feelings then, and are certainly inconsequential now, after all we have witnessed this year.

I tried to focus on the results show, remembering what it was like to see it the very first time...

Oh, there was that cheesy duet with Ruben, Ain't No Stopping Us Now, to sit through later.


Oh well, at least we got some, ummm, dancing Clack...did we even call it Clack back then? Ahhh, days of innocence.

Then, of course, was the actual result of final results night. The interminable build up, Clay standing there with his eyes fixed on Ruben, as Ryan finally read the dang card. The disappointment at not being able to see Clay receive the gift I/we wanted him to receive. Everyone remembers how incredibly gracious Clay was from that point forward. He was able to say he was proud of himself, and I was proud of him, too. I didn't cry.

Of course now we know how well Clay weathered the aftermath. How he went forward and never publicly dissed the show, or the voting, or the results, or Ruben. Sure, some of us wondered whether Clay was only putting on a brave face for the public. I found myself keenly attentive to any news and/or clues about how he was doing in the aftermath. I found myself comforted by listening to BOTW over, and over, and over.

But, I also had incredible hope for Clay's success, and his fans happiness. Because I believed I'd already had a glimpse into the future, with Clay's BOTW performance of May 21, 2003.

<<<<<>>>>>

Remember seeing this for the very first time�when Clay walked out in the dim light behind the choir, we could see him, almost in silhouette, as he snapped his finger to the beat of the music:


I thought to myself, whoa...he didn't do that last night!

I smiled as I watched him walking towards the microphone, he was striding really, seeming incredibly confident:


As he readied to sing, he snapped his fingers some more:


He stood there looking happy, tenderly touching the mic stand:


He swayed back and forth, snapping his fingers and tapping his toes:


He looked incredibly handsome, in what was to me one of the most beautiful outfits he'd ever worn on the show:


He swung his hands and arms around, gesturing to accentuate the message of the song:


Of course he sang as beautifully as he looked:


He manhandled the microphone:


Seemed to be giving this performance his all:


He turned aside to take a big breath:


And brought it, again, for the final verse:


And final note:


Then, looked spent:


Clay sang that song on May 21 with power and energy. Just to entertain us. A stunning performance.

To me, Clay looked calmer, happier, and more confident than I think I'd seen him in weeks. I loved that performance. I adored that performance. I still do.

The competition was over. I believe Clay's May 21st performance of Bridge Over Troubled Water was the first performance of his new career. He had nailed his performances the previous night, and stopped by on May 21st to show us how he had transcended the show already.

Of course the controversy stirred for weeks about how the voting might have been rigged. I was so not interested. I was interested in supporting Clay Aiken, the singer, the philanthropist, the man, in whatever way I could. I still am.

So, yes, I can look back on that night...and it�s easy to remember why I loved May 21, 2003. It gave me Clay Aiken, post tv show. It gave me my favorite rendition of BOTW (at least until the Jerry Lewis MDA Telethon version on September 1st...Clay has a way of outdoing himself, but you know that already).

So, Broads, let's make this a celebratory day. Please join me in congratulating Clay Aiken, again, for all he endured and for his perseverance and grace under pressure. Let's thank him, again, for demonstrating how to cope with disappointment, and how to not give up on one's goals. Let�s thank Clay for being the man who went out to face the media after that show was over, showing us his radiance, looking like the winner we knew in our hearts he was. Still is:

Today is a good day to be a Clay Aiken fan.


Ridiculously Supportive Nelle

With special thanks to Ridiculously Supportive Kelly, for making the gif of the moment that was impossible to capture in a screencap

blog comments powered by Disqus

hosted by
DiaryLand.com