Lecherous Broads For Clay Aiken!
Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken!


new | previous| next
archive

Welcome to LBFCA and 10 Simple Rules for Visitors, Newbies and Lurkers

Last 5 entries:
Celebrity Apprentice - 2012-03-12
What's New? - 2011-09-05
Timeless - 2010-08-16
The Clean Up Crew - 2009-07-03
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009! - 2008-12-31

MANIFESTO

LBFCA is not appropriate for minor children.

LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

More Lechery in the LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

Order Clay's Album Here!!


A Thousand Different Ways

Make a Difference


Clay Aiken "Official" Fan Club Website

Order Clay's Book Here

Order Clay's Other CDs Here

Broads BDay List

LBFCA Glossary

Make a shirt or decal with the
2005 LBFCA Logo

SUBSCRIBE to the Main Page

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2004-01-20
9:19 p.m.

BobbleFest BEVR: Raleighgurrl ...

BOBBLEFEST 2004, How the Broads got Bobbled by Clay Aiken, and other tales from Charlotte, NC.

Sometime, several weeks ago, I heard that Clay Aiken would be singing the Nation Anthem at a UNC Charlotte basketball game and that Clay Aiken bobblehead dolls would be given out to ticket holders at the game. I figured that students and alumni would scoop up all the tickets and very few would be available to the general public. No big deal, I have heard Clay sing the National Anthem live twice already, once at the Durham Bulls game and once at the Hurricane's game. Besides, I've never desired a bobblehead before. I'd just wait until the Coming Tour to see Clay again��.NOT!!!

A few days before the game, it became clear that there WERE tickets available and that Clay was going to sing one song at half-time too. It also became clear that this was shaping up to be a sizable Broadfest. I REALLY wanted to go. Still, my daughter's birthday was the day after the concert�I mean game. I really couldn't be away from home, could I?

Then Dr in NC sent me an email. "Hey, I have an extra ticket-can you play hooky from the family?!? I'll drive." Well, OK, if you twist my arm like that!!! That is how I came to get bobbled by Clay Aiken�..um; I mean get a Clay Aiken bobblehead.

Saturday, Dr in NC picked me up at 12:30, and after prying my daughter off my leg (she's a BIT and wanted to go too) we were on our way. We chatted nonstop from Raleigh to Charlotte about all things Clay, like how The Jimmy Kimmel Sweater got her knocked up. We even talked about some un-Clay-related topics. Actually, I think we'd have hit it off even if we met under circumstances unrelated to Clay.

We arrived in Charlotte several hours early and checked out the campus, then, Dr in NC gave me a driving tour around the city.

At 5:00 we arrived at The Lotus Buffet for the Broadfest. After parking in the farthest reaches of the parking lot, we walked up to the entrance of the restaurant where we found NSS Theresa waiting for us. After greetings and hugs all around, she showed us to the private area she had arranged for us and introduced us to her lovely (and snarky) daughter, Ashley. After chatting excitedly, like only best friends can, for a few minutes, NSST decided that it was time to go trolling for Broads again. She returned a few minutes later with Gini and (a very brave) Mr. Gini. Again, screams and hugs and greetings were exchanged all around. NSST repeated trolling for broads and by the time she was finished we had Filly Sue and (another very brave) Mr. FS, Diana K. and Lila, Erin, Robin and Amber, Michelle VA and her friend, and Trusty and her friend all sharing Chinese food and lecherous fun at The Lotus Buffet.

I noticed that the restaurant had, appropriately, decorated the dining room with purple walls in our honor, and Jello featured prominently in the buffet, although the Cream of Sum Yung Guy the Wun Hung Lo and the Sum Yung Geek were conspicuously absent from the buffet. Could it be that there had been a run on those items before we arrived? NSST? Of course, what would a broad fest be without some dessert? Bring on the fortune cookies. I carefully selected my cookie and broke it open to see what lay in store for my future. I pulled the tiny slip of paper out of the cookie, read what it had to say��.and just about fell off my chair! I showed it to the good Dr. who became extremely jealous (hey, you got the Kimmel sweater, and we've all seen your ultrasound, so no complaining, OK?). I showed my fortune around. I was laughing so hard I had tears streaming down my face. Ok, so do you want to know what it said?

Your business will assume vast proportions.

VAST PROPORTIONS INDEED!!!

We finished dinner, took some final pictures, then it was time to go get bobbled by Clay Aiken!

We arrived at the arena and parked next to Robin, Amber and Erin, then made our way to the doors. We handed over our tickets, were handed a program and then The Holy Grail. We had Clay's bobblehead in our hot little hands and it felt sooo good. There was talk of earthquakes and aftershocks�.. A couple of tweenybobbers asked us what website we were from and were appropriately shocked when we told them we were Lecherous Broads. I'm sure that the erotic qualities of a Clay Aiken bobblehead were completely lost on them.

After saying our goodbyes to Robin, Amber and Erin, Dr. in NC and I made our way to our nosebleed seats. It's a good thing that the arena is not very large, because we were about four rows from the top. I placed a quick call to Julie to be sure that I'd be able to get through to give her a cellcert. Dr and I did some crowd watching, noted that there actually appeared to be some folks there to watch the game, noted also that the cheerleaders seemed extremely young (women over the age of 18 should NEVER wear ribbons in their hair that hang down to their chins). We looked around to see where Clay might be seated during the game, but, since there was no red carpet or throne in sight, we were stumped.

Finally it was game-time and we saw Clay striding out onto the court in jeans and black shirt and the FUGLIEST BLACK SHOES ever! What! Where are the boots!?! I want boots!?! I NEED BOOTS!!! I dialed Julie. HE SANG! I forgot about the fugly shoes! I forgot about everything else��I tried to look through my binoculars, but since I was holding my phone with one hand, I had only one hand for the binoculars and it was shaking�.useless!!! When he had finished with us, he strode off the court and left us to clean up the gooey mess he had left behind.

After a few minutes of scanning the court for Clay, we saw him walk back out and take a seat between two girls at a table, courtside. He had his back to us, but occasionally he would turn to speak to Jerome who had taken up position behind him, or to Ms. Faye, who was seated behind Jerome. Basically, we got to see Clay just being Clay. He didn't appear interested in the game�.but then again, neither were 75% of the people there. He sipped water and chatted with his friends. The funniest thing I saw was when the 49er's dance troupe, The Goldduster's, stood up to dance during a break in play. They had been sitting on the floor directly in front of the table where Clay was sitting, so when they stood up to dance, a few of them were directly in front of him shaking their *sses in his face. Clay showed no reaction (at least from the back�I couldn't see his face), but I thought this was hysterically funny.

Dr in NC and I spent the rest of the first period either watching Clay or watching other people watching Clay. Some fans tried to talk their way past the security personnel posted at the aisles leading down to the lower level seats. Most just milled around on the walkway just above the lower level talking pictures, and trying to get a better look. The security staff shooed them away as quickly as they came around. Except for STALKER CHICK! I won't get into what she was doing since Dr in NC covered it in her BEVR except to wonder just what the hell did she think Clay would do if he saw her sign!?! Send Jerome up to get her name and number and set up a dinner date for the following evening?!? Some fans are just too psycho for words!

Anyway, Dr. and I were so engrossed in watching Stalker Chick that we didn't even notice when Clay got up and left the arena�..which could only mean one thing. It was almost time for The Clay Concert, part two.

A buzzer sounded, and the guys bouncing that silly ball around on the court finally left�It must be time�.oh damn, we've got to watch the cheerleaders first�.Finally, CLAAAAYYY AAAAIIIIKEN!!!!

There was lots of yada, yada, yada and the passing around of giant checks. Pose for cameras, turn around and pose for the cameras on the other side. Now some Alumni people want to present something to Clay�. Come on people, don't you know we're waiting for Clay to SING�.oh, it's a picture of Waldo�vast proportions is right! Oops, it's just the Bell tower�.pretty symbolic though. Finally it's time.

Clay started by singing "The Way." He worked us back and forth, around and around, one end to the other until there was nothing more to say than, I feel it in The Way�Time for a cigarette�and Invisible. I've seen Clay perform this song 4 times (5 if you count the impromptu performance at Crabtree Mall), not to mention all the TV and DL versions I've seen. But I never get tired of seeing him perform this song. He seems to have a blast singing it. He hopped and kicked and clutched and teased his way through that song. I loved the reaction of the cheerleaders as they fell into a squealing heap after Clay touched their fingertips, and then when all sense of decorum left them as they raced "backstage" after Clay left the arena.

All too soon, it was over. I chatted for a few minutes on the phone with Julie. Then Dr. and I noticed that Clay's friends and Mrs. Parker and her gentleman friend had left the arena. We decided it was time for us to make our exit too. We gathered up our bobbleheads and headed out to the car. We left a quick note on Erin's car, and then headed back to Raleigh. We chatted some more, this time between stifled yawns until we were back at my house in Raleigh. Dr. and I said goodnight, and our Bobblefest was over.

I am so glad that the Coming Tour dates have been announced and that Broadfests have been planned. It is always such a blast to meet up with other fans that truly "Get It" For whom no explanation is necessary. I can't wait!

Just one final note about the Clay Bobblehead��.His head is REALLY BIG!!! But we already knew that didn't we?

- Raleighgurrl ...

Posted by: Wendy in FL

blog comments powered by Disqus

hosted by
DiaryLand.com