Lecherous Broads For Clay Aiken!
Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken!


new | previous| next
archive

Welcome to LBFCA and 10 Simple Rules for Visitors, Newbies and Lurkers

Last 5 entries:
Celebrity Apprentice - 2012-03-12
What's New? - 2011-09-05
Timeless - 2010-08-16
The Clean Up Crew - 2009-07-03
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009! - 2008-12-31

MANIFESTO

LBFCA is not appropriate for minor children.

LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

More Lechery in the LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

Order Clay's Album Here!!


A Thousand Different Ways

Make a Difference


Clay Aiken "Official" Fan Club Website

Order Clay's Book Here

Order Clay's Other CDs Here

Broads BDay List

LBFCA Glossary

Make a shirt or decal with the
2005 LBFCA Logo

SUBSCRIBE to the Main Page

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2003-07-14
5:35 a.m.

BEVR: Indianapolis/Betty

First of all, I'd like to commend Kat and Ruth on the glorious BEVR's they've displayed in the past couple of days. Living up to those BEVRs--well I'm not even going to try. What followes is my lame attempt at something Broad-worthy.

A hint of the crowd's preference first surfaced with the obvious surges in excitement and screams every time Baby appeared in the pre-concert video montage. Which he did quite a bit. More than the others? Certainly seemed like it.

Originally, I was going to mention the other performers. But, then I thought better of it. I think my fellow concert-goer summed it up best: "They put on a pretty good show for a bunch of amateurs." This is in reference to everyone BUT Rube, Clay and Kim L.

TITN: And the crowd, which had been pretty calm to this point, goes wild! Unfortunately, I was seated so high in the arena that I could see every time they lowered the platform to raise someone onto the stage. I could also see that person (or people or props) get on or off of the platform. It was kind of like seeing how a magic trick is done. Takes away a bit from the end result. While Clay rising from the fog was cool from my POV, I'm sure it was even more impressive from ground level. The purple (I'd call it lavender) tie was still on display at the Indy show. The song was great. The crowd loved it. And my first *squeal* moment of the night was when he took the mic off of the stand to hit the knee-bending power notes toward the end of the song. Even when you know what's coming, it's difficult to be fully prepared. And, that beautiful final note. So clear. *sigh* *squeal* Then came the banter with the crowd. Someone had a sign that said "I'll give you a dollar to sing." And the panties remark. Yes, he did say it.

Intermission

Thanks to Kat, what comes next will forever be known as The White Leather Era. Hoo-boy. People, I should have whatever Broad points I've accumulated revoked, because I missed the entrance of the white leather ensemble. Shame on me. I don't know where I was looking, but it wasn't center stage at the top of the stairs. My suggestion is to focus on that spot from the time the second act begins no matter what else is going on on stage so that you don't suffer the same fate I did. I quickly refocused, however, and trust me I didn't miss one move it made after that...

Which brings us to the dirty dancing/booty-shakin'/Carmen moment. So glad I was on the lookout for this--binoculars in hand, pre-focused. I know a few days ago someone else described the view from behind. Well, I don't think there would be a bad angle from which to view these particular few moments/movements. Just block Carmen out of the picture and enjoy. Holy mother of...

To Love Somebody has always been my favorite AI song, and while the concert version is even more abbreviated, it is amazing. More knee-bending. More Betty screaming. Simply amazing! And, Can You Feel the Love Tonight was wonderful, too.

I do have to say, however, that whoever had the idea to use "The Lady is a Tramp" and "Bootylicious" as the two songs for the boys vs. girls sing-off needs to be pelted with sl**on's recently surgically removed raisinettes. Juxtaposing those two songs was just too weird for words in my opinion.

This brings us to the Hoosiers Are Stupid portion of the evening. People (lots of them) started leaving after I've Had the Time of My Life. I actually turned around twice and said 'it's not over yet, people!' So after the requisite amount of time for the crowd to scream themselves into yet another frenzy, who should reappear but the object of most of the frenzy. Rising again on the center stage platform, breaking the string of hockey jersey appearances by wearing a #31 Indiana Pacers jersey. In Indiana, where basketball is a religion and Reggie Miller is a god, this was THE PERFECT choice. (Now all I need is to find someone who got a good picture of it. Damn Indy Star photographer must have left at intermission. All the newspaper pics are from the first part of the show. Grrrr.)

I must take a moment to make a few semi-OT comments. My mother went to the concert with me. Mom is 73. Yes, 73. Mom's very cool. In fact, mom is the reason I started watcing AI1. I tell her daily about all of the Clay news I find OL (although, I leave out some of the more interesting Broad finds). I was telling her about the hockey jerseys on the way into the venue. She responds, "but this is Indiana. At Conseco. He has to wear a Pacers jersey!" Mom is a BIG Pacers fan. I tried to convince her not to get her hopes up. I didn't think it would happen. When he appeared in the Reggie Miller jersey, she turned to me and said, "See! I told you!" I was never so happy to be wrong in my life! If for no other reason than for mom. It made her night.

More crowd banter. Been recording album. New York. LA. Miami. London. New song. Whoohoo!!! He didn't seem to be quite as animated as in THAT DAMN VIDEO CLIP (also tm Kat), but still moved all over the stage. And yes, I can also attest to a definite jersey clutch. Pop star, indeed. Damn!

Other random thoughts:

*The boy can dance. I hate to call him a liar, but don't believe anything he's ever said on the topic.

*I know we've read it over and over, but I don't think it can be said enough. Clay was the only person who had any kind of genuine rapport with the audience. Granted, he had some scripted moments, too. The rather cheesy intro to The Girl Is Mine comes to mind. But left to his own devices, he really did shine with sincerity and charm.

*I knew I was in the right place when I parked in the still relatively deserted parking garage next to a van plastered with exuberant expressions of Clay love. While navigating the traffic jam to get out of the parking garage, I saw and heard a car full of teenagers blasting BOTW and singing along at the top of their lungs. When the song ended, the surrounding cars (myself included) gave them a round of applause.

I don't ever remember leaving a concert hoarse. I did this one. And proud of it.

One last note: While walking to the car, I heard some 30-something (maybe a bit older) ladies talking behind us. One of them said "....makes me wish I was a teenager again so that I could aaaaaahhhhhhhh (makes half-hearted screaming attempt)." I didn't have the guts to say it to her then, but I will here. Go ahead and scream. Let it out. That's the fun of it. What's the point otherwise?

Betty

-

Note from Nelle: You, too, can participate in the LBFCA Summer Series, and have your Broad's Eye View Report of Clay's Summer Concert Tour on the LBFCA Main Page. Just send it to Nelle via email, and she'll post it ASAP. (If you are a lurker, or otherwise wish to remain anonymous, just let me know that in your email). Don't worry about your BEVR not being the same size or looking the same as anyone elses. Here at LBFCA we celebrate diversity. Every BEVR is unique. This is your personal experience of witnessing what Katynka so gloriously described as "a little hockey-jersey-clutchin', white-leather-wearin', DTTR revealin', mic-flickin', thigh-strokin', eye-f***in', smokin', jokin', singin', hunk-o-burnin' libido."

blog comments powered by Disqus

hosted by
DiaryLand.com