Lecherous Broads For Clay Aiken!
Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken!


new | previous| next
archive

Welcome to LBFCA and 10 Simple Rules for Visitors, Newbies and Lurkers

Last 5 entries:
Celebrity Apprentice - 2012-03-12
What's New? - 2011-09-05
Timeless - 2010-08-16
The Clean Up Crew - 2009-07-03
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009! - 2008-12-31

MANIFESTO

LBFCA is not appropriate for minor children.

LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

More Lechery in the LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

Order Clay's Album Here!!


A Thousand Different Ways

Make a Difference


Clay Aiken "Official" Fan Club Website

Order Clay's Book Here

Order Clay's Other CDs Here

Broads BDay List

LBFCA Glossary

Make a shirt or decal with the
2005 LBFCA Logo

SUBSCRIBE to the Main Page

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2003-08-29
7:50 p.m.

BEVR: Lyn/Portland

BEVR - FROM PORTLAND TO WALDO LAKE

It was about a month ago when the computerized component of my Clay obsession was giving me global headaches, stiff neck, and the occasional (okay, frequent!) inability to recognize anything except Clay Aiken as interesting. I needed something to break the spell.

Water! Clay fears it. I love it, deeply, wildly, madly. If I haven't fallen out of my kayak on a river run, I jump out, because being inside the river is even sweeter than floating on top. Maybe by immersion in deep, flowing water, I could reclaim a functioning part of my former self.

So every few days, I tore myself away from all things Clay to dive deep into pools filled by gushing waterfalls. I'd give my body to the river, float, and let stately pines, puffy clouds, and blue sky cushion my tumble to RL. Wind and water sounds blew gentle kisses of serenity through my being. Renewal was mine; I felt simple and good. Savoring the solitude like fine wine, I wished I could send some of it to Clay, who misses that. On the way home, need to pull over, as my renewed mental clarity enabled me to come up with a new Clay-related vignette that must be written down. At home, I think that I can, from my new Om-like state, listen casually to a CD. Perhaps a Clay CD. At first note, there is fresh surprise at how gorgeous that tone is! Four hours later, I am watching a sixth version of Invisible for the fourth time and thinking that the greatest need in my life is better electronics.

And so summer for me has been an amusing blend of Clay, river, Clay, rapids, Clay, swimming hole, with brief pauses to make a living, take out the trash, and feed the cat (who purrs to Clay's voice, no help there).

What, you would like to hear about the concert? You would like to hear about Clay???


PRECONCERT

I don't generally do well in crowds. My last concert was Yo Yo Ma with hushed, polite audience whispers. But an essential part of my nature is that I am in Huge Love with all the Tremendous Beauty on the Planet, and since this most obviously includes Clay Aiken, all his Hugely Beautiful Parts, and That Gorgeous Huge Voice, so strange PopTart subculture, here I come!

Got to Portland early, wandered over to Rose Garden, where a small group was gathering for the Meet & Greet. Such a pleasure to discover and chat with hockeydonna, mel ladi, and bronwynne from PRoC - they are beautiful and wonderful! (Later, Donna shows me where Clay signed "All my love, Clay" on her shirt sleeve - Donna, test that ink for permanence before putting it in the wash!

Next it's dinner with RainJane, Patti, and Broad-in-Training friend Erin. (Didn't you Broads just KNOW that Jane had red hair?) She was still very sick, but grateful that her meds were propping her up enough to proceed with the only plan for this particular night that she's considered since oh, about five seconds after the tour dates were announced!

Back over at the Rose Garden, it's a typically mellow Oregonian crowd, as much tie dye as red, but the majority of signs and homemade T's are for Clay. I see Jerome walk from bus to building and the thought of asking him how Clay is doing occurs, but by the time my brain starts instructing my feet, he's in the building. Dang - I AM one of those mellow Oregonians!

Later, I see a big line of people by the busses. Could someone interesting be over there? I check it out, to find a huge cardboard poster with the Idols' faces on it and a cutout hole to "Get Your Picture taken with AI's Live!" There was a LINE for this! Oh my. (Where is Keith when you need him?).


CONCERT, AKA MORE CLAY WITH THAT CHEESE PLEASE

For me, this concert was like a plate of caviar sandwiches made with stale Wonder Bread. Every note Clay sang shivered with transcendent QUALITY, starting a chain of blissful ears-brain-heart-soul grooving - then 4 minutes later that part was over and we were assaulted with another big fat chunk of mediocrity, or worse (we all know who).

Someone on TTC said the Portland crowd was super loud and crazy; news coverage said enthusiastic, and Rainjane tells me they were "really dead." Perspective differences, I guess. Here's mine: They were way louder than at Yo Yo Ma! There were huge screams for Clay every time he or his picture appeared, and no one sat down for a moment of his solos. K-Lo's soul and class (and obviously high marks from SOMEBODY'S glory note clinic) got warm audience admiration. Loud applause greeted Ruben too (excepting the "No Ruben Blvd" song, during which even Ruben fans were seen diddling their toy teddy bears looking bored). For the "Baby, baby, baby" song, he got what I thought was nice enough applause, but opted to pull out the Pity Card, telling the audience that he'd been "feelin' under the weather, but hey, did I sound good?" (Louder applause then, but does it really count?). His rendition of FWW tonight really was especially good, and I enjoyed it a lot. Ricky and Julia's duet went over well (I likes it when Rickey sings low!), as did Trenyce's solos. I would liked Trenyce better if her intro for K-Lo hadn't been 1/10 on the generosity-of-support scale (all other intros were wholehearted 10/10's). The audience rested on their KK's lots more whenever Clay wasn't on stage.

Everyone except Clay and K-Lo spent lots of time and valuable audience goodwill exhorting us repeatedly to "Put your hands together like this!" (Like this, or like that? I'm confused, need more instruction!), and "Come on, ya'll!," "Wantcha on your feet now!" There was quite the energized frenzy up there to try to get US in a frenzy, and the audience response was like, "Ok, semi-interesting pageantry."

During the Idol-boring parts, I loved watching Brandi dance. She has this unique semi-spastic exuberance/hint of her own big-footed dorkiness thing going on, and I just found her wonderful!

CLAY - Vocally utterly superb. Every other performer sounded too loud on the not-great sound system; not one note of Clay's did. How did he automatically make whatever adjustment was needed there when no one else could? My theory: Every other singer in the universe just needs bigger ears.

TITN - Beautiful. Hot steaming gorgeous. His sore leg prevented deep knee bends, but I had to look to notice that. My 12th row center aisle seat allowed me to stand in the aisle with an unimpeded, perfect view. Starting to like men in suits. Well, make that this man in a suit. Yum.

TLS - I don't remember much. Somebody was screaming, and I think it was me. Security folk are now actively pinpointing videocamers and taking note of women that look like they might break loose in an attempt to redefine Clay's lower register.

Can You Feel the Love Tonight - Clay the master sound wave surgeon: Cut straight to my soul, drained the lechery right out of me, and replaced it with warm, glowing ClayLoveGoo. (I someday want an entire album with songs that are simple, true, and just him doing THIS). He waited a really long time tonight, after crossing the stage, just quietly standing there and smiling as the screams got louder and louder, before doing an especially adorable lip bite with wider smile and handing us that last note.

TGIM - At beginning of banter, Ruben's done something and Clay responds, "You know, my leg is feelin' better tonight, so I could just kick ya!" (Aw, so glad it's feeling better!). Jane and Patti's gift got thrown up, and he picked it up and played a little with it. (Make her tell you about it, and the card she attached). He got the requisite red panties and did the children's hospital can't use 'em line. Hey, Clay's white tennies have red bottoms! Clay puts so much magnificent "Clayness" in his voice in every line of this song that they're going to have to work hard to find a girl they don't have to dry off before presenting to him. This time, though, they both decided they don't want the girl. Clay says, "She's playing both of us anyway; I'll take that hot dog instead (points to audience front row area)(Makes me think, "Is Wendy here with her footlong???")

Clay Side Dance While Ruben Yada Yadas: As Ruben began talking, Clay's state of underlying near-exhaustion was confirmed with an uncontrollable yawn. (Funny, I had the same reaction, and I got plenty of sleep!) But then Clay got into an entertaining series of dancedorkles, some with Carmen (one they did was a fast play-box dance), lots by himself. A new air instrument move was too fast to identify; a little like a crash of cymbals, but with a super-spiffy follow-through flourish back over the head with one arm. Why does it make me so happy to just watch Clay dork around? One of my favorite parts of the show.

Invisible - Came up in the crouch. The first three notes alone, "Oooooh, oooooh, ooooh" are totally worth the price of admission. Nobody else sounds like this! I don't remember much of Invisible with my brain. I was otherwise engaged. That song is an ode to hot passionate longing, and he has found the matrix.


THE AFTERMATH

(13.5 + 8.25 + 56,000,000 cubic feet of live Clay tones = Infinite Ongoing Delight)

Having chomped down my appetizer, with the main course (solo tour) cooking, Clay-rapture and self, I can feel it, have achieved a joyful fusion. Time to celebrate! There really IS a Waldo Lake in Oregon (facing north, DTTR of Mt. Fugi), renowned for its clarity, depth, enormous beauty, vast expanse, ripening huckleberries, and recent volcanics. These are the waters for me. Don't wait up. I may be a long, long while.

Lyn
Waldo Lake Campground Host


Waldo Lake


-Note from Nelle: You, too, can participate in the LBFCA Summer Series, and have your Broad's Eye View Report, or, for any other Brude's out there, your Summary of Clay, about Clay's Summer Concert Tour on the LBFCA Main Page. Just send it to Nelle via email, and she'll post it ASAP. (If you are a lurker, or otherwise wish to remain anonymous, just let me know that in your email). Don't worry about your BEVR not being the same size or looking the same as anyone elses. Here at LBFCA we celebrate diversity. Every BEVR is unique. This is your personal experience of witnessing what Katynka so gloriously described as "a little hockey-jersey-clutchin,' white-leather-wearin,' DTTR revealin,' mic-flickin,' thigh-strokin,' eye-f***ing, smokin,' jokin,' singin,' hunk-o-burnin' libido."

blog comments powered by Disqus

hosted by
DiaryLand.com