Lecherous Broads For Clay Aiken!
Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken!


new | previous| next
archive

Welcome to LBFCA and 10 Simple Rules for Visitors, Newbies and Lurkers

Last 5 entries:
Celebrity Apprentice - 2012-03-12
What's New? - 2011-09-05
Timeless - 2010-08-16
The Clean Up Crew - 2009-07-03
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009! - 2008-12-31

MANIFESTO

LBFCA is not appropriate for minor children.

LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

More Lechery in the LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

Order Clay's Album Here!!


A Thousand Different Ways

Make a Difference


Clay Aiken "Official" Fan Club Website

Order Clay's Book Here

Order Clay's Other CDs Here

Broads BDay List

LBFCA Glossary

Make a shirt or decal with the
2005 LBFCA Logo

SUBSCRIBE to the Main Page

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2004-03-08
9:25 p.m.

BEVR: Karen N/ DC, 3-5-04 & Wilkes-Barre, 3-7-04

A BEVR OF TWO CITIES:

SWITCH OFF

Friday night, March 5, I came home sad and disappointed. This was my first ever Clay concert and unfortunately, he wasn't well. For me, the VOX that I had so fallen in love with, was trying its very best under the circumstances, but it just wasn't what it could have been. I was waiting for the highs and the lows, the soaring notes that take off into canyons and stars- well , you know what I'm talking about.

I also didn't feel the ENERGY that I have felt jump out at me through TV screens and even bumpy videos taken at other concerts. Now, for those up front, I'm sure it was very different, but from where I sat on the side, I just didn't feel the connection.

The bass and percusssion were turned up too high, making Clay sound a little like he was on helium for me. The DC crowd was its usual quieter self compared to other cities.

Now, don't get me wrong, he was still wonderful in his own Clay way and there were still many moments of vocal stunningness . I also could not take my eyes off him for one second, such is his physical beauty. Yeah, I know why you prefer him with your eyes closed, Simon. Me too, honey, me too.

I have to insert here that Kelly totally blew me away with her earthy naturalness, voice (she's learning to cut down on the melisma) and big heart. The sound system wasn't doing her any favors either.

I shared these impressions with some and fear I might have alienated some fellow Broads. I just so wanted the EXPERIENCE that everyone was talking about. The now famous When Doves Cry " GOLLYWOOD" was not seen from where we sat but the dancing was good!

I also want to add that meeting fellow Broads and talking to them as if we had known each other in person was great. After the show, John and I gave Jannet and Karen Eh? a night tour of DC and the monuments . A hysterical dual conversation ensued- something like this:

JOHN: And here we have the Washington Monument, so many feet high, erected in (insert date).

JANNET, KAREN and I: Did you check out the grindage in WDC?

JOHN: And to your left we have my favorite museums, the FRICK and the FREER. I'm thinking, "Did he Frick her in the Freer?". And so forth. That was a real highlight!


SWITCH ON

Two nights later, from Wilkes-Barre, I got a cellcert from the wonderful Cheyanne- a warm, loving woman who I have never yet met in the flesh. She was standing close to the front so there was a great deal of distortion. HOWEVER, I felt that COSMIC ENERGY that courses through Clay when he is on top of his game.

I clung to the phone all the way up to "Without You" and suddenly there was a click. I just assumed my time was up and Cheyanne was giving someone else a chance to hear. She later called and said she had dropped the phone!

I thought, "Wow, he was really on tonight". Then as you all know, I and all other at home fans got caught up in some primo Clerotica that night. I felt hopeful and couldn't wait for St. Louis.

The next morning, I got up , checked the MP and the lovely BEVR's there. Went about my chores, played some piano and decided to call a friend.

I picked up the receiver and heard that Verizon "messages" stutter- drone. Punched in my numbers and heard this: YOUR MESSAGE BOX IS FULL. THERE IS NO ROOM FOR ANY MORE MESSAGES UNLESS YOU ERASE THE CURRENT ONES.

Huh. I didn't hear the phone ring once! What was this?

More number punching and got this: "YOU HAVE ONE MESSAGE".

ONE MESSAGE? Who would leave such a long message?

I punched the number "1", and got CLAY. That's right, His Master's Voice. THE ENTIRE REST OF THE CONCERT FROM WILKES-BARRE! Still lots of distortion, but his gorgeous voice and energy demanded my total attention. I heard the crowd sing MOAM as he fell silent with emotion, I heard him joke about the dancing in DC, I heard him tell the band to change keys for "The Way". I heard the glorious wail that sends me to heaven in The Way..

I thanked God and Verizon. As I write this, I am overcome with emotion, my heart is full. St. Louis, here I come.

blog comments powered by Disqus

hosted by
DiaryLand.com