Lecherous Broads For Clay Aiken!
Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken!


new | previous| next
archive

Welcome to LBFCA and 10 Simple Rules for Visitors, Newbies and Lurkers

Last 5 entries:
Celebrity Apprentice - 2012-03-12
What's New? - 2011-09-05
Timeless - 2010-08-16
The Clean Up Crew - 2009-07-03
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009! - 2008-12-31

MANIFESTO

LBFCA is not appropriate for minor children.

LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

More Lechery in the LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

Order Clay's Album Here!!


A Thousand Different Ways

Make a Difference


Clay Aiken "Official" Fan Club Website

Order Clay's Book Here

Order Clay's Other CDs Here

Broads BDay List

LBFCA Glossary

Make a shirt or decal with the
2005 LBFCA Logo

SUBSCRIBE to the Main Page

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2004-04-20
3:42 p.m.

BEVR: Suz in MD, NOC/BAF Kansas City: 04/14/04

The last time I had dinner with Clay�

I have a friend who loves to say �The last time I was in London,�.� Of course, she�s only been there once, about 20 years ago. But, that�s how she starts many sentences. So, this is about �The last time I had dinner with Clay.�

I knew this was going to be a great trip when the �Secret Broad Messages� (We�re really into Secret Stuff, aren�t we?) started hitting me on the way to the hotel. The first was a sign that said, �Welcome to Clay County!� Woo-HOO! I was in the right place! Not long after that was another sign saying something about a tie-up on the BROADway Bridge. Tied up Broads? Maybe I interpreted that wrong. Hmmmmm

So, we pull up in front of the Hyatt and lo! Tour buses! CLAY�S TOUR buses! The farmers in the van with me (the hotel was hosting an association that specializes in agriculture marketing) didn�t even seem to notice, but I sure did! Imagine how my heart started racing when I saw this!

The line to check in was long, so I stood in it BACKWARDS so as not to miss any action going on around the buses. I�m sure nobody in the lobby thought a thing about it.

After killing a LOT of time by myself, I finally decided it was time to get ready for the dinner. I curled and sprayed and spackled and painted until I looked semi-presentable. Put on grown-up shoes and headed downstairs to meet my Broad friend, Josie, who was to be my partner for the evening. Josie and I looked like�well, not sisters because she�s young enough to be my daughter but at least relatives. Blond, black dresses with big white lapels. We were so cute!

After signing in and receiving our program�

We went upstairs to the reception, where I ran into Dottie B! I forgot she was going to be there! What a wonderful surprise! She was sitting at one of the �elite� tables. More about that later. The great thing is�ALL tables were great. There wasn�t a bad seat in the house! Anyway, Diane Bubel wasn�t in the VIP reception with all the big sponsors. She was at the reception with US! She was totally accessible and chatted with anybody bold enough to approach her. Lots of people did � but she wasn�t mobbed. We were all on our best behavior.

Finally, we were allowed to enter the banquet room. That�s when things started getting weird for me. The tables were black and white. I can�t remember if half of them were white and half were black or whether they were all black with white overlays or all white with black overlays or what. But, essentially�.black and white. My temporary amnesia was to get worse before this evening was over! At the center of each table was a Revere bowl just full of roses. Half of the tables had creamy white roses. The other half had red ones. They were gorgeous. I meant to take a few to press�but alas�I forgot!

Clay was right there in the room with us!!!! Yes! I thought they�d hide him in the back and just bring him out to do this stuff. But, he was right there! And guess what!? Dottie B was at the VERY NEXT TABLE!!!! Her seat was on the side of the table nearest Clay�s table. She had to turn around to see him, but hey�if I can stand backwards in a check-in line, I figured she could handle this little logistic glitch. Clay was maybe five people away from her the whole evening! And she lived to tell the tale!

The food was good, but lots of people couldn�t eat. I am never too excited/nervous/sick to eat. An ordinary green salad kicked it off�great bread�entr�e of baked chicken breasts topped with mandarin oranges�asparagus�grilled peppers�dessert of flan with caramel sauce. Clay ate, but mostly he talked. And talked. And talked. And talked. How that boy loves to talk!

The speeches were short and sweet. But, the sweetest was Clayton. He was nervous and said so! That�s understandable. This was his baby. I was so excited for him and proud of what he�s made happen. I can�t tell you everything he said, but I do remember laughing several times, and I took down one sentence: �If you change the way you think and speak about individuals with disabilities, and if you support the programs that change the way we serve people with disabilities, people with disabilities will change you - and will change your life.�

My most conscious memory is hearing that sweet voice and darling accent for so many minutes and just lapping up every syllable and decibel. I was so pleased that people were restrained. No flasbulbs popping in his face. Nobody rushing the podium or his table. It was great that we let Clay have this special evening unmarred by fan excesses.

Clay presented the award to local news anchor Larry Moore, who spoke for a short while. I don�t know what he said. I was looking at Clay the whole time. I was aware enough to applaud when everyone else applauded.

When the keynote speaker, Sheila Kemper Dietrich, came on I visited the ladies room so I could be fresh for Clay�s performance, which was scheduled to follow her speech. I don�t know who Ms. Dietrich is, but I think her middle name is significant�as in �Kemper Arena.� She does a lot of work on behalf of individuals with disabilities in Kansas City.

Finally�.the stage was bare. Out came a lady holding the hand of a little boy with a disability, who was then raised to the podium mic. �Ladies and gentlemen�I would like to introduce my best friend, Clay Aiken!� Wild cheering. The stage remained empty. What is this? Suddenly�screaming at the back of the room! He was giving us a sneaky back-of-the-room entrance!!!! Singing Run to Me! I know this now�but had to have it written on the back of my hand before the evening was over. When I was trying to tell this later, I could NOT remember what he sang. More of that amnesia stuff!

So, anyway, he�s singing and�slowly�slowly�walking through the tables with Jerome about four or five feet BEHIND him. He�s just right out there�totally accessible. It became apparent that he was coming my way! Lots of people were grabbing one another and hugging and crying and stuff. But, not me. NO sirreeee. I figure this is my ONE chance in my entire lifetime, and I went for it! He was going to come right by me anyway, so as he did, I smiled and simply extended my hand. He looked me right in the eyes�smiled back at me�and took my hand! I somehow continued to smile and I gently squeezed his hand in mine..and he gently squeezed back. Then he let go and moved on. But, for those few brief seconds, I was in total heaven. It was just him and me. And I will never be the same.

THEN I fell apart! Hugging my tablemates. Crying. Hugging my tablemates again. Crying some more. He was devastatingly wonderful.

Finally, he ended Run to Me while standing on the stage. I can�t remember if he said anything or not�and then the unmistakable strains of the opening of�SOLITAIRE!!! The room just erupted! It wasn�t the five-minute Solitaire, but it was plenty long�with a nice, long glory note, and you can bet we showed our appreciation for that! Then he thanked us and said, �That�s all. If you want to hear any more, you�ve got to come to the concert tomorrow night.� Of course, we all laughed and cheered at that. As IF we wouldn�t be there!

Then it was over. I was so exhilarated that I knew I wouldn�t be able to go to sleep. So, Josie and I went to our rooms to change before going out for a little adult refreshment. I called Cha-Cha because I just HAD to talk to someone who would understand why I was so charged up! Then I posted something on the PP�with Josie�s help because I was still pretty much incoherent...and emailed my cousin who is the only person I�ve come out of the ClayCloset to. Finally, several hours later�after three hefty adult beverages�I was able to get to sleep.

What was it like, holding Clay�s hand? Well�his hand was smooth and firm. Cool�and dry. (I was immediately thankful I had remembered hand lotion that evening!) I don�t remember much of anything else except looking into his gorgeous eyes and drowning in his smile. I didn�t even remember if he still had the beard! I had to see newscasts the next day to know that he did! The lighting was bad in there, and they were trying to follow him with a spot. It was behind him, and it cast a beautiful light upon his hair�turned it into an auburn glow around his head. I will always remember that beautiful red halo around him. GAAAH!

I was to get another hand grasp on Thursday night at the buses, but that was a �drive-by��no eye contact. It was special in its own way, too. He was sooooo cute!

This was supposed to be about Clay and me at dinner, but I have to tell about the next morning. I went out for some fresh air. The buses were back in front of the hotel, so when I came back, I snagged a seat in front of the elevators and just sat there�waiting for something exciting to happen. You know what I mean! And I waited. And waited. All this time, various crew members and musicians were loading up. I began to feel conspicuous, so I start looking at my watch, as if someone was very late meeting me. Suddenly, my cell phone rings, and it�s my daughter. We talked for a long time, and it made me feel less conspicuous, for some reason. Hey�that worked pretty good! So, I sat there for two freakin� hours pretending to talk to various people�and checking my watch all the time�while the buses finished loading. I didn�t give up until they pulled out. What a GOOBER I am! But I�m a happy goober!

I love you all�and I love Clayton Holmes Aiken with all my heart!

Suz in MD

blog comments powered by Disqus

hosted by
DiaryLand.com