Lecherous Broads For Clay Aiken!
Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken!


new | previous| next
archive

Welcome to LBFCA and 10 Simple Rules for Visitors, Newbies and Lurkers

Last 5 entries:
Celebrity Apprentice - 2012-03-12
What's New? - 2011-09-05
Timeless - 2010-08-16
The Clean Up Crew - 2009-07-03
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009! - 2008-12-31

MANIFESTO

LBFCA is not appropriate for minor children.

LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

More Lechery in the LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

Order Clay's Album Here!!


A Thousand Different Ways

Make a Difference


Clay Aiken "Official" Fan Club Website

Order Clay's Book Here

Order Clay's Other CDs Here

Broads BDay List

LBFCA Glossary

Make a shirt or decal with the
2005 LBFCA Logo

SUBSCRIBE to the Main Page

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2004-05-25
9:00 a.m.

BEVR: Lila, NYC, 5/24/04

BROADWAY BABY BEVR

Calm. I was calm all day. I drove into the City and met up with a great group of women from the Clackhouse for pizza, drinks and Clayversation. One of the CH�ers asked if we all had Clay t-shirts under our theater clothes. I said no, but raised my foot high to display my green swoosh and pink shoelaces which were met with a round of ooh�s and a smattering of applause. We ate. We laughed. We told stories. We exchanged Cummer Tour itineraries. We collected moneyfor the bill. And then we got antsy and anticipatory. This was no time to be calm any more. It was 6:00. Time to move on to the theater to pick up our tickets.

I walked over to the theater with daisybumble and DonnaAllCity. We were surprised to find that our three seats were next to each other�..we get to share the love in the first row balcony, left of center. Once we are seated the woman to my right says �I know you!� It turns out that she is NY4Clay from the Clayboard and we had shared a table at the MOAM release party in NY (remember thatGINI?). The ClayNation is a small world.

It turns out that I loved my seat. Oh yes, I really loved my seat.

Heather is beautiful. She is an actress who sings really well, so the songs are delivered with a lot of feeling and emotional impact. The program listed CYFTLT as the 5th song of eight in the first act. But�.Heather was not following the order of the playlist in the program. So every time she finished a song we held our breath� Was this it? Was HE next?. �For this next song� says Heather,� I wanted to do a duet with the best looking man on Broadway� and she announces Norm Lewis. And they sing. Another song or two and Heather says �For this next song, I wanted the best looking man on Broadway, next to Norm� and she announces Adam Pascal. Another song, and another. Where is he? *sigh* When is Clay coming? Then the orchestra strikes up familiar notes. �For this next song I wanted another very good looking man� and Heather starts singing. Huh? Where is he???�.

There's a calm surrender
To the rush of day
When the heat of the rolling world
Can be turned away
An enchanted moment
And it sees me through
It's enough for this restless warrior
Just to be with you�

and with a sweep of her arm towards stage right �Clay Aiken!�

*gasp!*

He enters, singing, to a burst of loud applause and stifled involuntary screams (mostly from the cheaper seats, heee!) as the audience struggles between showing the love and showing respect for the singers. Respect quickly wins out.

OMG! OMG! He is breathtaking!!! Creamy Leno suit. A dark mossy colored shirt with a tie in three shades of broad green diagonal stripes. Shiny black dressy boots. Hair a beautifully spiked dark corona salted with blonde streaks at the upper temples. His skin under the stagelights was luminous. Long skinny sideburns. With my good binoculars (I love my binoculars! They remembered him from Bobblefest and focused right in.) I could see the freckles through the not too thick makeup and� his lashes! It was almost too much to bear.

The voice! He was in excellent voice. CYFTLT was my favorite song from the tour last summer. It was haunting and dramatically powerful when he sang it then. But that was his song, his show. What? Wasn�t it his show? Tonight was Heather�s show. Starting softly, gaining power, blending beautifully, undulating around Heather�s voice, then soaring off on its own, then coming back to embrace hers again with an underlying sweetness. Never fully belting as we know he can, but filling the theater with a sound that flowed and covered everything like honey. Smiling. Snapping the fingers of his right hand in that soft silent snap that he has. Lifting the big 13 � of his right foot back onto its heel as he leaned in from the waist towards Heather.

It was glorious. Time stood still as their two voices ached into the end of the song, reaching deep within me to drag up a heavy sigh and wetting my cheeks with tears I hadn�t noticed falling.

Wild applause and shouts, this from an audience that was probably at most about 30% ClayNation. Heather turns to Clay and bows towards him with a sweep of her arm in that age-old stage gesture of deference to�..a star! Clay grins and, facing the audience, accepts it. Curtain down. Intermission.

I was a trembling hand-shaking mess through the entire intermission. It took that long for the energy I had absorbed in this relatively small physical space to dissipate. You know, the primal energy of his presence that easily fills huge arenas. You�ve been there. You know. Imagine all of that in a space maybe one -fifth the size. I am still experiencing aftershocks.

As we stood in the anteroom trying to compose ourselves, daisybumble said �He belongs here.� I replied �He belongs anywhere he wants to�. And it is so true.

We go back in for act two knowing that Clay will not reappear as we have been told he only rehearsed one song for tonight, not two as rumored. The first act had been ballads and slow songs, but Heather has ditched her sparkly dress for a pair of jeans, a tank-top, and a sheer flowing gold-and-sparkle jacket. She is ready to pick up the pace a bit and opens with Chain of Fools. Towards the end of that song, NY4Clay leans into me and says �Who�s in that box?� as she motions with her chin towards the private box almost immediately to our left. It is dark. I squint. My heart stops. THE PROFILE! I grab my binoc�s and zero in as a squeaky �erp� escapes my lips. There is Clay, not twenty feet northwest of me�.directly in my line of sight. I tap DonnaAllCity and whisper �look over at the second box� and point as subtly as I can manage. I hear �erp� as she lifts her binoculars to her face. She then leans into daisybumble saying �Look at the second box�. I hear a whispered �Yeah.OK. What am I looking at?� and then there it is�. �erp�.

We spent most of the second act looking at Clay�s profile with the stage lights reflecting off of it in the dark. Did I mention that I loved my seat?

It was fascinating to watch him watching Heather. He was intent, focused, leaning forward, clearly studying her performance and command of the stage. I could almost see those sly brainwheels turning, absorbing everything.

We couldn�t help but giggle when we saw him applaud�..it was that delicate open-palmed clap clap clap from the Billboard Awards show, except he executed it low in his lap instead of high up. DonnaAllCity said that she felt like such a voyeur. I said �yes, like flies on the balcony�. I guess you had to be there. At one point he crossed his legs with his right ankle on his left knee, propping his right knee against the railing. The cream-colored fabric shone out in the dark, and I couldn�t peel my eyes away from that long lean thigh�.it went on for two yards at least. Or so it seemed.

There was a woman in the box with him�..the WangoTango woman! Yes! She must be part of his new management at the Firm.

And then they both got up and left. You could feel a change in the air. He was gone.

But wait! Heather calls him out for a final bow and he bounces out from the wing on the balls of his feet, joyful and I hope proud, and waves to the audience. So cute. And then he is gone.

Heather mentions that Clive is in the audience (!!!).

I tell my CH buddies that I want to touch the chair that Clay sat in. I get raised eyebrows and �I�m not gonna touch his chair!� The lights come up and we move down towards the box that Clay had recently inhabited. I sit in his chair and give it a good wriggle with my bottom. It is still warm (yeah, my crown is on tight). There are cheers from the balcony above saying �That�s the way to do it!�. I get up and we start to leave. �Wait a second! As long as I�m here�� and DonnaAllCity sweeps into the box and slides her hand along the seat back, leaning in to give it a wee sniff. And then buzztechie lopes in. Having seen from above what we were up to, she was not going to miss out. She made some good time down those stairs I tell ya. And then the usher asked us to move along. We thanked her and did exactly that.

We made our way down some spirally stairs and out into the street. But it ain�t over yet. After very few minutes, the stage door opens and like a light in the night, there he is. Stunning. Tall. Happy. Creamy goodness. He autographs a few things, making sure to work both sides, on his short walk to the limo. He slides in. WangoTango woman slides in after him. And now he is truly gone.

I loved every second of it.

No cuppage was observed.

P.S. There are reports that a commercial video of the concert will be available in as little as three weeks. Money raised from the sale of it will go to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights Aids.

~ Lila


Posted by: Wendy in FL

blog comments powered by Disqus

hosted by
DiaryLand.com