Lecherous Broads For Clay Aiken!
Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken!


new | previous| next
archive

Welcome to LBFCA and 10 Simple Rules for Visitors, Newbies and Lurkers

Last 5 entries:
Celebrity Apprentice - 2012-03-12
What's New? - 2011-09-05
Timeless - 2010-08-16
The Clean Up Crew - 2009-07-03
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009! - 2008-12-31

MANIFESTO

LBFCA is not appropriate for minor children.

LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

More Lechery in the LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

Order Clay's Album Here!!


A Thousand Different Ways

Make a Difference


Clay Aiken "Official" Fan Club Website

Order Clay's Book Here

Order Clay's Other CDs Here

Broads BDay List

LBFCA Glossary

Make a shirt or decal with the
2005 LBFCA Logo

SUBSCRIBE to the Main Page

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2004-03-17
4:49 p.m.

VIRGIN BEVR: Detroit / Lynda 03/11/04

Where Clay goes, wonderful, amazing and all round great things happen! I know this. You know this. I know that you know this. But, even though I know that you know, I still have to share my incredible Detroit experience � everything about it was, well, just great!

It began crossing the border from Windsor into Detroit. There�s something about the sight of an official �Customs and Immigration� uniform that sends flutters of butterflies into the depths of my stomach. No good reason for it � it just happens! And, pulling up to the border-crossing in Detroit was no different. I was a wreck! Why?? What was I worried about? Leaving the hotel in Windsor, I�d emptied my purse of anything that might even be the slightest bit suspect. Nail file, out! Swiss Army Knife, gone! Toe nail clippers, buh-bye! Hey, what was I doing with toe nail clippers in my purse anyway?? Was I going to get busted for having earlier consumed a burger made from *gasp* Canadian beef??

We pulled up to the booth, passports in hand. This lovely man in uniform smiled at us. No, really, he smiled at us. I looked at my sister. Had we pulled into the wrong spot? Did we just drive through that tunnel beneath the Detroit River and end up in the Twilight Zone? �Where are you ladies headed?� he wanted to know. �We�re going into Detroit,� we answered. �How long are you staying for?� �Well, if I get invited onto the tour bus, I�ll need some kind of long-term visa, I guess�� All right, wishful thinking. What I said was, �We�re there just for the evening. We�re going to a concert.� I said, with a big grin. Well, that Customs officer, with a twinkle in his eye and an even bigger grin asked me �Who are you going to see?� �Clay Aiken!� we said! Well, he just started to laugh! He told us that people have been coming across the border all day to see that young man sing, and then he told us to have a great time! Wheeeee! What a great Customs Officer!

We find the Joe Louis Arena easily (another great thing!) and pull into the Parking Garage. It was a big Parking Garage � a multi-level Parking Garage � and, an already busy Parking Garage - it was a Parking Garage that had �Seinfeld episode� written all over it. We see an older gentleman wearing a JLA Parking Garage shirt. We slow down and ask him where to find the best spot to park, seeing as the lot seems so full already. He asks if we�re going to the Clay Aiken concert. We both grin, and say that yes indeed, we are! He tells us to wait there for a minute, and he proceeds to move a giant oil drum out of the way and makes a primo parking spot for us right by the door that leads into the Arena! This is truly a great day!

We try to find the restaurant where we�re to meet Jenny O � but we can�t find the starting point on our directions. I try to call, but Jenny�s cell phone isn�t working. We walk back to JLA and ask at the Box Office. No one there knows the restaurant. A couple of women (Clay fans) overhear me asking for directions, and tell us that they�re headed over to the Hard Rock Caf� � and if we want to, we can join them - they know how to get there using the People Mover. We can follow them. Awwwww, how great is that!

We get to the People Mover. There�s a stop at Joe Louis Arena. There�s a big sign outside the 2 turnstiles that says � �50 cents, exact change (U.S. coins only) or tokens�. My sister and I dig around in our wallets. I have a few U.S. one dollar bills, and my sister has 2 U.S. quarters. I find one U.S. quarter. A very kind lady gives me a quarter. My sister goes through her turnstile and I went through the one just beside it. I dropped in the first quarter. It jammed. I wasn�t going anywhere! I hand my sister one of my $1.00 bills and ask her to go around to the other side of the station � I see a token machine over there. Please go and buy me a token. Another kind lady � not the same one that gave me the quarter � but another one - gave me one of her tokens! Here, she said, use this. That was just incredibly great!!

Kelly, in your BEVR you mentioned you helped some Canadian women on the People Mover. Kelly, was this you? Were you my People Mover angel?

Hard Rock Caf�. What can I say�it was a demonstration of devotion for Clay. His music was blasting on the loudspeaker both indoors and out. There was Clack as far as the eye could see. The level of energy and anticipation in the Hard Rock � well, it was smokin�! The restaurant was full, and there was no room, but people made room for you if you wanted to sit down. People were there from so many Boards, and we shared Clay tales. We were all there for the same reason and what a great reason it was!

Now we�re back at JLA, and the main event is just an hour away! The Clack stands are lined up about 15 deep. I�ll come back later. We get to our seats (11th row on the floor � excellent spot for JT photos!), and an older couple, a few seats down tells me that Jenny O�s in her seat and waiting to meet me! Woohoooo � I�m going to meet my very first Broad in real life!! I found Jenny O! We hugged, we laughed, we exchanged Broadly treats, and we shared our excitement about what was soon to come! And, we made plans to meet at intermission. Have I mentioned how great this is?!

Back at my seat now, and the party of 4 in the row in front of me has arrived. We exchange greetings. We have a mom, her 11 year-old daughter, her 6 year-old niece and the girls� grandma. The 11 year-old was a little shy, but the 6 year-old was quite articulate, and anxious to tell me that the following day was her birthday, and her grandma has brought her to see Clay for her birthday present. Well, isn�t this the best birthday present ever, I ask her? The six year-old gets a twinkle in her eye � similar to the one that the Customs officer had � and with a big grin, says that it sure is! I knew right then � this 6, soon to be 7 year-old, she gets it too! During his set, this adorable little girl stood on her chair so she could see. She�d look back at me from time to time, with that little grin on her face, and we�d catch each other singing along! This little 6, soon to be 7 year-old knew every word to every song Clay sang from MOAM!

The lights dim, and the show begins. Beu sisters � I enjoyed them. But it was a little hard to concentrate on them, knowing what was coming next.

And then, he came. And he gave us everything we could ever want! His voice was perfection and he was ON! He hit his highs and he hit his lows, he danced, he giggled, he debacled, he played air guitar, he demonstrated the true meaning of assish, and he even fiddled a little with whatever it was that was in his left pocket (cell phone?). And I�m quite certain that he made eye contact with each and every one of us in Joe Louis Arena. He had me in the palm of his hand (oh, don�t I just wish).

And then, it seemed, nearly as soon as it began, it was over. It was all way too fast for me. I consoled myself with the fact that I still had at least 2 more concerts to go. Note the words �at least�. But that�s a whole other story!

~ Linda

Posted by: Wendy in FL

blog comments powered by Disqus

hosted by
DiaryLand.com