Lecherous Broads For Clay Aiken!
Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken!


new | previous| next
archive

Welcome to LBFCA and 10 Simple Rules for Visitors, Newbies and Lurkers

Last 5 entries:
Celebrity Apprentice - 2012-03-12
What's New? - 2011-09-05
Timeless - 2010-08-16
The Clean Up Crew - 2009-07-03
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009! - 2008-12-31

MANIFESTO

LBFCA is not appropriate for minor children.

LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

More Lechery in the LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

Order Clay's Album Here!!


A Thousand Different Ways

Make a Difference


Clay Aiken "Official" Fan Club Website

Order Clay's Book Here

Order Clay's Other CDs Here

Broads BDay List

LBFCA Glossary

Make a shirt or decal with the
2005 LBFCA Logo

SUBSCRIBE to the Main Page

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2003-11-11
4:26 p.m.

Broadmuda Triangle: Cotton

Why Clay?

OK - here it is_

First of all, I am a media coordinator in a K-2 school - over 830 students and NO ASSISTANT! Please, talk to anyone you know about state and federal budget allocations for public education. They are cutting us to death! I love being in a K-2 school. The little kids look up at you (hey, that's a big deal to my 5 foot self!) and up TO you. They take every little bit of a smile or love you give them and give it right back double. I don't know all my kids - my memory's not that good! But even when I'm just in the front hall for dismissal duty, they seem so happy to see me, "Hey, Ms. Cotton!" Even when I haven't seen their class in weeks. It's always a surprise. (Sadly, it's still one of the toughest jobs in our country and way undervalued and underpaid.)

("Invisible" is currently filling this room! Oh, how that young man can sing.)

Now, on to Hello Gorgeous! I grew up in a family surrounded in music. My maternal grandmother, "Nannie", taught music before I was born, and played piano (hymns).

Daddy sang in the church choir and had a dance band and a Sunday morning classical music radio show. At Cotton (Daddy's side) family gatherings there was ALWAYS group singing! Down in the Valley, Swing Low, Amazing Grace, I've Been Working on the Railroad, etc.

So, I was exposed to all kinds of music - except country. The Cottons were musical snobs on that score, I'm afraid! Daddy's youngest brother was a band director in New Bern for years. I've done musical theater in my adult life (strictly amateur), actually how I met my husband. (Can't carry a tune in a bucket, but looks great on stage and is great in straight show.)

There. Background.

I did not get into American Idol the first season. I saw the last show and maybe a bit before that. I was impressed with Kelly's voice, but that was it. No interest. No CD purchase. Certainly, no internet search. It was over. Then, the second season started. I'm not even sure I saw the first one, but I do remember seeing the infamous Atlanta audition clip at some point. The first time I watched /heard Clay, I was amazed. He sang. I mean he SANG. You heard the words, you felt the soul of the song. His range! I think most young girls squeal for the falsetto, but it's his deep, chest voice that vibrated with me. And his power. He has no fear! He goes for it. I couldn't believe it the times the judges criticized him for the "safe" choice. I don't think he ever played it safe.

So - for me it was - The Voice. The Big, Bold I-Am-Who-I-Am Voice. The uncompromising commitment to MUSIC - to melody, lyric, heart. He didn't try to "rock out", soft pedal his strength, play to the "pop" expectations. When he opens his mouth to sing, he opens himself up right down to his soul and Lets It Out! And it touches.

The second thing that amazed me about him, was his total openness

to critique. Not criticism, critique. He stood there, he listened, he took the gems he found there and used them. The nonsense, he just ignored. Let it roll off. Never got rattled. Deflected any invitations to complain about the judges in post performance interviews.

And every week, he - I started to say he got better, but that's not it. He polished, he allowed a little more of himself to be exposed, he made little adjustments in his presentation. He exuded such self confidence, but no ego. How can you do that?

In the behind the scenes clips, we learned more about him as a person. He laughed at himself, never others. He had the most genuine, unguarded smile. He had that infectious laugh, that silly side, the Dorkiness. We learned of his education and work with mentally disabled children.

Every successive interview told the tale of a very complex young man. I envy the reporters who have been able to witness first-hand, his eccentricities, his simplicity, his complexities. In some ways, all I know of him is second-hand. But I believe his true self is there for all to see. I love that silly side. I love that self-deprecating side. I love that stubborn side that takes a stand on what is important to him. Like scolding someone for staring, or using the word "retarded" or starting the Bubel-Aiken Foundation.

Another trait infrequently mentioned. His intelligence. Listen to him talk. He considers, he observes, he replies with understanding and vocabulary not often heard in today's 24-year-olds. And he certainly dispels many southern stereotypes. I know people say he is a southern gentleman, and he is. But not in the drawling, "AwShucks, let me just look stupid" way or the "slick southern politician" way that is so often depicted in the media. He talks ninety miles an hour, as though he's afraid he's not going to have time to tell you all he wants to say. He is a positive in a world that surrounds us in the negative!

OK, now this is where Faye and I probably part ways! ;>) The man is SEXY! He was definitely hiding that sensuality under a bushel initially. When he stopped closing his eyes and started looking at the camera as I believe he looks at people when he is in conversation - making full-on intense eye contact - he had us all. And when he left that contest and landed on tour, he COMMANDED the stage. He took the arena. He charged, strutted and reached for the audience in such a way that each person felt he was reaching for them. He found some moves were exciting the crowd and so he gave them more. I am smiling just picturing him during the concert in Charlotte. He let his reserve go and let his energy out! He wiggled those hips, tugged those shirts and looked at us smiling, "I have you now!" And he loved every moment of it.

And, ladies and gentlemen, that is SEXY. All of it. The Voice. The Openness. The Caring. The Humor. The Dorkiness. The Intelligence. The Self-Assurance. The Vulnerability. The Sensuality. The Physicality.

So, Clayton Holmes Aiken, that complex mix of elf and hero, makes me feel young again! Watching him and listening to him makes me feel happy! The amazing, truly amazing thing, is that he makes hundreds of thousands feel that same happiness.

Pure joy! He has it and it's contagious.

So, feeling a little silly, I search the boards for new video clips, photos and news bits of this new phenomenon. I buy any magazine that has a Clay Aiken story and set the video to record anything he is to appear on. And my coworkers laugh at me. My son, nearly as young as Clay (28), laughs at me. And my husband sees me at the computer again and just shakes his head, but tells my son, "Well, at least she has a hobby!"

And I wish him a long and happy life. Whether he's singing or speaking - he is always teaching!

-Broad "Cotton"

blog comments powered by Disqus

hosted by
DiaryLand.com