Lecherous Broads For Clay Aiken!
Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken!


new | previous| next
archive

Welcome to LBFCA and 10 Simple Rules for Visitors, Newbies and Lurkers

Last 5 entries:
Celebrity Apprentice - 2012-03-12
What's New? - 2011-09-05
Timeless - 2010-08-16
The Clean Up Crew - 2009-07-03
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009! - 2008-12-31

MANIFESTO

LBFCA is not appropriate for minor children.

LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

More Lechery in the LBFCA Forum Purple Pages

Order Clay's Album Here!!


A Thousand Different Ways

Make a Difference


Clay Aiken "Official" Fan Club Website

Order Clay's Book Here

Order Clay's Other CDs Here

Broads BDay List

LBFCA Glossary

Make a shirt or decal with the
2005 LBFCA Logo

SUBSCRIBE to the Main Page

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2003-12-08
11:22 p.m.

Tacoma BEVR 12/08/03

The Tacoma Double BEVR!

Note: Pam is in regular type, Mare in italics

We don�t want to start too far back, but we must go to August 2003.

Pam: I happened to be vacationing in Washington and Oregon, the exact week before the Idol tour hit town, and was unable to get additional time off to drive back down for the concert. If I didn�t have to travel through the border (which can take up to two hours), I definitely would have seen Clay in Seattle. I kicked myself for the next two months about not calling in sick and just going. Would I ever get another chance? Lucky Mare was at that concert with Mr. Mare, and left in a daze. When would she ever see him again? Where would she need to fly in order to see OMC in a solo appearance?

In late October, I just happened upon a random posting about the Jingle Bell Bash at another board, but couldn�t find much else. Then I found a radio interview from the Seattle station, announcing Clay's appearance. A very funny interview, as the two female DJ�s called themselves "Claymates," and asked Clay if they could be his backup singers when he sang "Build Me Up Buttercup." He was kinda like, "yeah, don't think I'll be singing that one." But, OMG, he's giving Seattle another chance!

Started to run the idea past hubby and kids, and soon realized I needed to find someone else to go with. Left a couple of posts in the guestbook, calling any Northwest Broads who may also need a companion. Got a couple of little bites, but nothing panned out. Even Mare's first response to me was "iffy," as in "if" we could get some decent reserved seats. I said, "yes, please!" and Mare promised to look around. I think she had our tickets in hand the next day.

Ok, time for Mare to interject here. I read Pam�s shout out and hesitated. I wasn�t sure if I wanted to sit through a bunch of other people AGAIN just waiting my man�s turn to sing. But I knew if I didn�t, I�d be kicking myself when I read everyone else�s accounts of what a great concert it was. Pam�s enthusiasm spilled all over me and I knew we had to do this � we had to as Pam said "breathe the same air" as HRH.

Lots of e-mails back and forth, especially as the day drew nearer and the hyperventilation set in. I would drive down to Mare's and then Mr. Mare would drive us to Tacoma (what a good sport Mr. Mare is). I'm from Seattle, so it was no problem to find my way around. I called about half an hour before my arrival just to let them know, and we instantly started yabbering away.

I had so much nervous energy the day of the concert. I mean I was joking days earlier on the PPs about needing to breathe but I seriously could hardly breathe that morning. Then I got Pam�s phone call that she was just a half hour away. We talked on the phone for 15 or 20 minutes as though we had always known each other. I was instantly relaxed and ready for our date with Clayton.

Got to the house in good time, met Mare, Mr. Mare, and the Muppy(?). I knew I wanted to bring Mare some sort of gift, as she had ordered the tickets and roped hubby into coming along to drive. I couldn't think of anything Vancouver that wasn't also typically northwest, but aha! I'd met Canadian Idol Ryan Malcolm the previous week and had him autograph a copy of his CD single for Mare (reference the YTV interview, where Clay mentions that he's met Ryan and gave him a wildcard pep talk). And she gave me a Cluppy tv guide (unavailable in Canada). Woo hoo!

Drive to Tacoma, jabbering the whole way, and try to find the best place to park, as we were going to a pre-concert party, and then the concert. We actually just parked at the Tacoma Dome and walked to the restaurant. (So glad these two junkies had a "dedicated driver")

In the window, we saw the most gorgeous poster of Clay in the MOAM cover pose, but a wider shot. Mare wondered why they made his eyes so blue, but we stopped and stared for awhile.

Yes, this poster was ENORMOUS as befitted our man. And I was so focused on those blue eyes that I missed some of the better attributes of the poster. (Pam to fill you in later!)

We went in and tried to spot other BIRDs. Michelle and Heather had planned to meet us at the pre-concert gathering. Mare recognized many of the people there from the CD release party, and we chatted with quite a few. I saw someone with a Claynadian button, so told her that's also where I'm from. Gave our names, and she said, "oh, you're Pam from Vancouver? They were paging you at the bar awhile ago. You had a phone call." But no message.

We met a woman named Trudy, who was proudly showing a picture that she took with Clay at the Portland concert. She had given him a thank you card at the meet and greet that apparently contained a generous gift to the BAF, so he met with her after and gave her about 10 minutes of his time. So I had to touch her. She also told us she was flying to Las Vegas to see him at the Billboard awards.

Dennis was the host of the party. He'd won the poster in the front window (said it came from a Sam Goody's), and he'd also won an autographed Rolling Stone at the CD release party. Does this seem right to anyone?

So at this party (still not spotting any BIRDs), it's mostly women, a few guys, and then this group of leather-clad tattooed guys smoking at the bar, looking totally out of place. Apparently they were roadies, and they offered up first one, and then two all-access backstage passes for auction. The bidding started at $75 cash only, and the pair eventually went for $710. This wasn't for charity, mind you, but just two guys hoping to make a buck. Mare was worried that the passes weren't really transferable. And I also knew that having a backstage pass doesn't mean you can barge into someone's dressing room. No guarantee that you'll meet Clay. (On the Idolforums site, I saw that the girl whose mother bought the passes did get to meet Clay after he sang, and got a quick autograph and photo).

We felt bad that the $$ weren�t going to BAF or at least something charitable. It was also disconcerting that security could be so lax that just anyone could buy a pass from anyone else and get backstage in proximity of our beloved (unless of course it was one of the Broads in which case we know you�d share your good fortune). Unless of course it was Goddess Wendella in which case I�d be even more worried that we would never see Clay again!

We decided to look for a bite to eat, but didn't want the burgers and fries at the diner. So we looked around the little mall, which was filled with all sorts of little arts and crafts shops. Lots of greasy fare, and also a Subway. We each got 6" subs, then Mare said, "well, I guess if we were really lecherous, we would have got the footlong! And shared it!"

We ate, then went back to the diner. Dennis saw us, and said, "oh, Pam from Vancouver, they called you again, but didn't leave a message." So we left them with Mr. Mare's cellphone number, in case they called again when we went to the bathroom. So we never did meet up with Michelle and Heather. But lesson learned. Get all cell phone numbers before leaving home!

Short intermission for a sing-along:

O-O-O-O-O-O-Tacoma!
Where the broads are coming to see Clay,
He�s the one we love.
We will push and shove
To win a spot to see him live todayyyyyy. . .

Time to head to the concert. It was raining a little again, but not too bad. Took another lingering look at the poster, and realized, OMG, this is the money shot! Clay is straddling that chair, and there ain't no shirt covering his crotch! [To answer Sue in Filly�s question: we believe the time was half past 5.] We giggled like two schoolgirls as we picked our chins up off the sidewalk and kept walking. The doors were supposed to open at 4 pm, but there was a huge line-up to get in. We walked and walked and walked to the end of the line, then found out it wasn't really the end of the line, so we walked and walked some more. It finally started to move forward, and after awhile, we could see people peeling off. This was about the time Mr. Mare realized the camera's batteries were dead, so he'd gone back to the car to get fresh ones. Mare asked one of the security people why others were leaving the line, and she said we were in the line for general admittance, and the others had reserved seats. We have reserved seats! AAARRGH! Wrong line for over half an hour. Called Mr. Mare on his phone and quickly got into the building.

The first act was already performing, so all the lights were off. We found our seats. Now mind you, no one in the reserved seating was that close to the stage. We had a good view of one of the big screens, and just kept repeating our mantra, "same room, same air." This may be different at other venues, but everything on the floor was standing room only.

Stacie Orrico is apparently a Seattle native, and did an okay set. I think she sang six songs, so we were really anticipating at least as long a set from Clay. All American Rejects were next, and I quickly rejected them. We left and went downstairs with Mr. Mare. No Clay t-shirts for sale, as apparently, he hadn't sent any. We were able to find programs downstairs at the radio booth. We saw that Clay would definitely be third to last and they had 55 minutes blocked for his set (just 30 minutes for Stacie Orrico - yes, yes, yes!). Trudy at the diner told us he'd be third to last, but thought he just had half an hour. We were also hoping to run into Michelle and Heather, but no luck. (Were they backstage making our man better or worse!!?)

Now, I found Black Eyed Peas very entertaining. They did some great dancing, the girl could really sing, and they really pumped up the audience. Simple Plan was next and they had a huge reception. The young girls sitting next to me had their cell phones turned toward the stage so their other friends could hear, and they were just bouncing and singing along. When they finished, the crowd really cleared out. Mr. Mare told us a band was signing autographs in the downstairs section. Part of me thought, "oh, no, there won't be as many people staying for Clay," and the other part of me thought, "Maybe we could sneak down to some of those lower seats." Mare was more concerned about the reception that Clay would get since his music was pretty different from the other performers. But again, we were anticipating at least 5 songs, since that seemed to be the minimum.

Well happily or sadly, most of the seats were filled again when Clay was ready to be announced. The female DJ's obviously loved him and sang Build Me Up Buttercup, then decided they sounded better on the radio than on stage. They said Clay was here with his puppy, and he'd better hear some noise if we wanted him to come out. [When the DJ�s announced Clay brought his puppy, Pam and I turned to each other and gave out the loudest fangurrly squeals. As I turned back, I caught the eyes of a couple of young boys sitting behind us just shaking their heads.] Huge roar from the crowd. Suddenly, they were gone, and he was there, "Hello, Seattle!" and launching into IWCY.

I mostly kept my eyes on the man on stage, but did look to the big screen to see his face. Obviously the glasses were the first thing we noticed (uh oh, does this mean he's still sick?), then the sideburns, and then Mare detected some stubble. When they showed a 3/4 profile on the screen, it was totally Atlanta Clay.

Lighter hair and glasses, but otherwise, exactly the same. He sang the glory notes beautifully, so it was really hard to tell if he was sick or not. And he did give a little kick with his left foot (what's wrong with the right one?) When he spoke again between songs, he was obviously hoarse. What a total trouper. He wished us a Merry Christmas and thanked us for making the year so special for him, then sang one of his favourite songs from the album, Run to Me.

This is when Mare turned to me and said, "I wonder why his band isn't there." Honest to God, I had not even noticed! I assumed that they were there behind some of the amplifiers (they'd put all that equipment out after Simple Plan finished). Pretty clear proof that I only have eyes for Clay!

Run to Me also sounded absolutely fantastic, but there were a few notes that weren't crystal clear. He mostly walked back and forth around the stage, pointed to people in the audience, did the knee bend with the non-mic arm lifted above his head as he sang the glory notes. He was also fiddling with his ear cord. I would almost swear he ripped it out completely to sing Invisible, but am not positive. And did I mention the boots? The size of the boots?

A few things were thrown on stage, but he didn't pick anything up. He then thanked us for welcoming him so warmly and also for making his next song such a big hit by requesting it. Then the Invisible music came on. I hoped against hope that he might sing a Christmas song to close out, but figured Invisible might be the end, as every other group closed with their current hit. What? So soon? But again, he sounded absolutely fantastic. He brought the energy up a notch, but despite what you've seen on other boards, we did not see any clutches. He held his chest one time, but it seemed to be in pain. The best part was that the entire audience basically sang along to every word. Those girls sitting next to me included - they were as into that song as they were to the bands that they obviously paid their money to see. [Everyone singing along was one of the most incredible moments for me. It was like being in the middle of an ocean of sound. And since the vast majority of the audience was young, it made all those hours of dialing for TRL and making radio requests seem so worthwhile. This was the ONLY time during the concert I heard that kind of singing and recognition by so many people for the same song.] When the song ended, he said "thank you, Seattle," waved, and bolted from the stage. [This reminded me of the MDA telethon. I wanted Jerry to come out and say, "Clay, come back. Take a bow." I don�t think the man knows how to take applause unless he�s standing there waiting to be judged.] Then we just sat there in utter shock and silence. Mare still held out some hope that he might come back on. But I said, "you know, Clay was obviously sick tonight, but did the most that he thought he could so he wouldn�t let anyone down. I don't think he's coming back. And I don't think he'll be signing autographs below. That man needs to get to bed." [Pam, didn�t you really say, I think I need to take him home so he can get his needed rest, once I�m finished debacling him?] And now I see he did sign autographs. I�ve flogged myself repeatedly.

I was pretty blue at this point. Only 3 songs, less than 15 minutes on stage. How could it be over so quickly? I would have been happy with 5 songs. Then Pam reminded me, "So we would have had him for 10 minutes longer and we would still be saying the same thing." How true.

So back to the car and the drive to Mare's house. As we left the parking lot, an ambulance was heading the to the Dome with its lights and sirens. Mr. Mare said, "Oh, they're coming to get Clay!" Mare was ready to slap him silly, and made him take that back! We all agreed that Clay or the DJ's should have let people know that he wasn't feeling well. Especially in light of the review I saw that said his performance was disappointingly brief ("at least when Avril Lavigne cut her set down to two songs last year, it's because she was sick.") Well, I guess the reviewer couldn�t tell that Clay was also sick if he was just going by the quality of the performance.) So, I think they should have said something. [By the way, I e-mailed that reviewer and told him Clay was sick, hence the shortened set and glasses instead of contacts. He e-mailed me back to thank me.]

If the Cleveland, Atlanta, and Miami broads get longer performances, I think they should still be prepared. There is something a little sad about Clay all alone on stage. I wish his band was with him. And if three songs seemed to last about 2 minutes, six songs will still only feel like 4. No matter what, it just won't ever be enough. How many times do you listen to all 12 songs on his album, and immediately go back to track one because you need more, more, more?

I don't know if Clay will ever give Seattle another chance, but maybe the solo tour will come to Vancouver. Otherwise, Mare and I have agreed that we will fly anywhere on the west coast to see him perform again. So California broads, look out! [Pam, should we really limit ourselves to the West Coast???]

One final note: While I only got to spend 15 minutes with Clayton, I got to spend the day with Pam who is warm, funny and friendly. Only another indication of how special Clay is that this is the kind of person he attracts to him.

Ohhh, now I�m feeling all warm and fuzzy and must say double about Mare. Definitely a day well spent, and leaving knowing that Mare and I could speak for days longer if we had to travel, say, to the east coast, for our next meeting with Clay.

From Pam and Mare with special thanks to Wendy in Fl for providing song lyrics

Posted by Melissa

Credit to this idolforums thread for the pics!

blog comments powered by Disqus

hosted by
DiaryLand.com